Post #1: An Introduction

Hello!

Have you ever wondered what it means to be a marketer? What can you do with a major in marketing and what does working in the marketing industry look like? In this blog, you will be able to learn in depth about the marketing industry including the various career paths, working conditions, necessary qualifications, and recent trends that the industry has.

As a senior marketing major who will be graduating this spring, I have learned a lot throughout my four years at the University of Maryland about the marketing industry. In the past, I interned for a small start-up where I helped develop social media campaigns for promotional purposes. More recently, I worked at a small retail shop and assisted the store in developing its social media presence and brand image. I also volunteered in my free time as a marketing coordinator for one of my school organizations. It is important to note that marketing is more than just utilizing sms or planning advertising campaigns. There is a variety of activities each marketer is responsible for depending on the specific career path he/she is in. Marketing majors can work in advertising, public relations, sales, market research, retail, and more.

If you are curious about the marketing industry and are considering either becoming a marketing major or pursing a career in marketing, then this blog is for you! Stay tuned for my next post, in which I will go in detail about the most common career paths that one can take with a marketing major.

Leave a Reply

